Home > News & Reading Lists > News > 2012 Honored Teacher Contest Winners Announced

2012 Honored Teacher Contest Winners Announced

Massanutten Regional Library announced the winners of its annual Robert B. and Gladys Hopkins Strickler Honored Teachers Writing Contest Thursday, May 17.
Michael Perry, 4th grade teacher at Keister Elementary School in Harrisonburg, was honored with the special recognition of “Honored Teacher of the Year” and a $500 winning prize for his school. Mr. Perry was unable to attend the program but was surprised on Friday morning by Sarah Deloney, the student who had written the essay honoring him. She presented him with a plaque, balloons and a sealed envelope in front of his class.
Students from Harrisonburg City, Rockingham and Page County Schools were invited to write an original essay or poem about a current or former teacher who has had an impact on their life. The contest, now in its 16th year, climaxed with a reception at the Main Branch of Massanutten Regional Library for the winning students and teachers and a reading and viewing of the student work.
Authors of the winning essays received monetary awards of $100, $50, and $25 for first, second, and third place, respectively. 
The 2012 winning students include:
Student Teacher
1. Meagan Swortzel Mrs. Cynthia Shank, Turner Ashby HS
2. Nevin Heckman Mr. Mark Tueting, Harrisonburg HS
3. Abigail Yoder Ms. Tammy Stone, East Rockingham HS
1. Hannah McInturff Ms. Stephanie Hutchinson, Wilbur Pence MS
2. Madison Evick Ms. Stephanie Hutchinson, Wilbur Pence MS
3. Miranda Goldberg Ms. Stephanie Hutchinson, Wilbur Pence MS
1. Sarah Deloney Mr. Michael Perry, Keister Elem.
2. Lauren Gibson Ms. Jolene Kratz, Cub Run Elem.
3. Andrea Osinkosky Ms. Laura Thompson, Thomas Harrison MS
1. Ellee Rose Trout Ms. Katie Hylton, South River Elem.
2. Matthew Beach Ms. Missy Mathias, Linville-Edom Elem.
3. McKinley Taylor Ms. Allie Borrelli, Lacey Spring Elem.
Art Award  
Luke Tao Ms. Cindy Hardesty, Stone Spring Elem.
Students honored their teachers at the ceremony held Thursday evening by reading their essays aloud in front of teachers, parents, and invited guests.
Judging for the contest was performed by the Harrisonburg Kiwanis Club, and members of the club also assisted with serving refreshments. James Gilchrist, secretary of the Harrisonburg Kiwanis, also welcomed the group of educators, parents and students. 
McAlister’s Deli of Harrisonburg provided refreshments.

© Massanutten Regional Library - 174 S. Main St., Harrisonburg, VA 22801, 540.434.4475

Web Design by BlueKey in Harrisonburg, VA